Advanced Photon Source

An Office of Science National User Facility

Volker Rose, assistant physicist with the U.S. Department of Energy Office of Science’s Advanced Photon Source and Center for Nanoscale Materials at Argonne National Laboratory is one of four Argonne researchers to receive 2012 Early Career Research Program awards, granted by the Department of Energy to exceptional researchers beginning their careers.
Paging Peter Parker: Scientists have taken another step closer to producing viable artificial spider silk by zooming-in on the nanoscopic structure of the natural, spider-made stuff, using the U.S. Department of Energy Office of Science’s Advanced Photon Source at Argonne National Laboratory.
The Advanced Photon Source Users Organization has named Damian C. Ekiert as the winner of the 2012 Rosalind Franklin Young Investigator Award. The prize recognizes Ekiert’s work on broadly neutralizing antibodies, which holds promise for structure-based design of a universal vaccine for influenza. The award is to be presented at the APS Users Meeting on May 7, 2012.
Research at the Advanced Photon Source that is helping us understand dinosaur tissue was spotlighted on Clever Apes, the “Science Experiment” hosted by Gabriel Spitzer on Chicago’s WBEZ-FM 91.5 public radio station.
X-ray beams and their many useful properties bring thousands of scientists each year to synchrotron light source facilities such as the U.S. Department of Energy Office of Science’s Advanced Photon Source (APS) at Argonne National Laboratory to carry out world-class experiments. So there were many smiling faces around the APS when the recently completed user-beam run 2011-3 set a new APS record for machine availability and reliability.
Rod Gerig was selected chair of the Board of Governors of the U.S. Particle Accelerator School at the board’s annual meeting. Gerig is Deputy Associate Laboratory Director for Photon Sciences at Argonne National Laboratory, and is also the director of the Argonne Accelerator Institute.
Argonne National Laboratory Director Eric Isaacs has appointed George Srajer to the position of Project Director for the Advanced Photon Source Upgrade project, and Deputy Associate Laboratory Director of Facility Development for Photon Sciences.
Esen Ercan Alp, Senior Scientist at the Argonne National Laboratory Advanced Photon Source, has been elected to Vice-Chair and the 4-Year Chair Line term of the American Physical Society Forum on International Physics.
Brian Toby of the Argonne X-ray Science Division has been named chair of the U.S. National Committee for Crystallography by the National Academy of Sciences for a three-year term effective January 1, 2012.
Linda Young, Director of the X-ray Science Division in Argonne’s Advanced Photon Source; Elliot Kanter, of the Atomic, Molecular, and Optical Physics Group in the X-ray Science Division; and their colleagues used the Linac Coherent Light Source at the SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory to achieve a feat of electron terpsichore.
Efim Gluskin of the Argonne Accelerator Systems Division has been elected to Fellowship in the American Association for the Advancement of Science “for leadership in the development of ultra-bright x-ray sources utilized at third generation synchrotron sources and x-ray lasers.”
“Seminal contributions to x-ray microscopy” have earned Chris Jacobsen, of the Argonne National Laboratory X-ray Science Division, election to Fellowship in the American Physical Society.
Prof. Keith Moffat of the University of Chicago has been appointed Senior Advisor for Life Sciences at the APS to provide a stronger linkage between the Advanced Photon Source and the life sciences community.
Karena Chapman, of the Advanced Photon Source X-ray Science Division at Argonne National Laboratory, won the 2011 Oxford Cryosystems Poster Prize for “11-ID-B, a Dedicated Instrument for X-ray Pair Distribution Function Measurements.” Oxford Cryosystems gives this cash prize to the best poster describing work in low-temperature crystallography.
On Thursday, September 15, 2011, William Brinkman, Director of the U.S. Department of Energy Office of Science gave his approval for Critical Decision 1 for the Advanced Photon Source Upgrade project.

Argonne National Laboratory Director Eric D. Isaacs announced today that Brian Stephenson has been appointed Associate Laboratory Director (ALD) for Photon Sciences, effective September 1, 2011.