Advanced Photon Source

An Office of Science National User Facility


Efim Gluskin of the Argonne Accelerator Systems Division has been elected to Fellowship in the American Association for the Advancement of Science “for leadership in the development of ultra-bright x-ray sources utilized at third generation synchrotron sources and x-ray lasers.”
“Seminal contributions to x-ray microscopy” have earned Chris Jacobsen, of the Argonne National Laboratory X-ray Science Division, election to Fellowship in the American Physical Society.
Prof. Keith Moffat of the University of Chicago has been appointed Senior Advisor for Life Sciences at the APS to provide a stronger linkage between the Advanced Photon Source and the life sciences community.
Karena Chapman, of the Advanced Photon Source X-ray Science Division at Argonne National Laboratory, won the 2011 Oxford Cryosystems Poster Prize for “11-ID-B, a Dedicated Instrument for X-ray Pair Distribution Function Measurements.” Oxford Cryosystems gives this cash prize to the best poster describing work in low-temperature crystallography.
On Thursday, September 15, 2011, William Brinkman, Director of the U.S. Department of Energy Office of Science gave his approval for Critical Decision 1 for the Advanced Photon Source Upgrade project.

Argonne National Laboratory Director Eric D. Isaacs announced today that Brian Stephenson has been appointed Associate Laboratory Director (ALD) for Photon Sciences, effective September 1, 2011.

Powerful x-ray technology developed at the U.S.

A paper authored by two Advanced Photon Source scientists, on “two n

From the Art Institute of Chicago ARTicle blog entry by Francesca Cas

Argonne Distinguished Fellow and Argonne National Laboratory X-ray S

Keith Moffat has been selected as the recipient of the 2011 Patterso

Paul Fenter, a physicist in the Chemical Sciences and Engineering Di

Lahsen Assoufid has been elected a Fellow of SPIE, th

A special issue of the journal X-Ray Optics and Instrumentation on “X-ray Focusing: Techniques and Applications” has been published and is available online in an open-source archival format for dow