The Advanced Photon Source
a U.S. Department of Energy Office of Science User Facility


The University’s Board of Governors for Argonne National Laboratory has selected seven proposals for 2005 Collaborative Research Seed Grants of $80,000 to $100,000 each. The grants are renewable for a second year.
A University of Georgia research team has received funding from the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency to take a close look at something 100,000 times smaller than the width of a hair;
Ever wonder what the editors of the Chicago Tribune think of the Advanced Photon Source (APS)? Wonder no more. True, the APS didn’t make the cut as one of the "official" "7 Wonders of Chicago" in a reader-survey contest recently staged by the newspaper.
Russell J. Hemley and Ho-kwang (David) Mao (both Carnegie Institution of Washington/Carnegie/DOE Alliance Center and the High-Pressure Collaborative Access Team, APS sector 16) are recipients of the 2005 International Balzan Foundation Prize for Mineral Physics.
“I am delighted APS and the Australian Synchrotron have signed a pact to exchange ideas and explore new experimental technology for advanced materials science, life science, earth science, environmental science and industrial research,” Mr Brumby said.
In another strong indication of the emerging bioscience industry throughout the state, Gov. Rod R. Blagojevich announced today that Business Facilities Magazine’s July edition has ranked Illinois the top state in the nation for biotechnology
Three APS employees have won an R&D Magazine award for developing new multi-layer lens wafers for x-ray lenses that will help focus x-ray beams to the nanometer scale.
Structural GenomiX, Inc., which operares SGX-CAT on sector 31 of the Advanced Photon Source, announced receipt of a $48.5 million National Institutes of Health Cooperative Agreement Award from the National Institute of General Medical Sciences.
Proteins are the molecular machines that make growth possible, and understanding their structure is key to developing pharmaceuticals. A new window to that understanding is being made possible under a $50 million grant to the U.S. Department of Energy's Argonne National Laboratory.
Government officials dedicated three new beamlines at the Advanced Photon Source this past June. The exciting part of the event was the announcement of the type of new [GM/CA-CAT] beamlines that were being dedicated… the new designs allow increased automation, additional experimental stations, and finer x-ray beams.
Structural biologists will soon have access to the latest advances in synchrotron technology. At a ceremony dedicating three new beamlines on June 27 at Argonne National Laboratory’s Advanced Photon Source, researchers toured facilities and watched demonstrations of instrumentation and experimental methods that hold promise for breakthroughs in medical research.
Soon scientists at Argonne National Laboratory near Chicago, Ill., will test-drive what many call the “Ferrari” of synchrotron beamlines — high-tech research facilities for imaging molecules. During a dedication ceremony on Monday, June 27, researchers will tour the facilities and watch experimental demonstrations on one of three new beamlines that promise to speed medical research.
The funding, from the U.S. Department of Energy's Office of Basic Energy Sciences, will be used to study the molecular basis of catalysis, with a particular interest in the oxygen reduction reaction in fuel cells.
Wah-Keat Lee and Jin Wang (both ANL-XFD) are among five scientists from the U.S. Department of Energy's Argonne National Laboratory who have received the 2005 University of Chicago Board of Governors for Argonne Distinguished Performance Award, which recognizes outstanding scientific or technical achievements or a distinguished record of achievements.

Some of the world’s top physicists, chemists, engineers and an assortment of politicians and civic leaders gathered Friday, May 6, at Argonne National Laboratory for a cornerstone-laying ceremony a

Federal and state officials will visit Argonne National Laboratory May 6 to participate in a cornerstone-laying ceremony for the Center for Nanoscale Materials (CNM).
APS Science 2004, the annual report of the APS, is now available. APS Science features articles on APS research that are written for the interested public as well as the synchrotron x-ray and broader scientific communities, potential users, and funding agencies.
The Advanced Photon Source (APS) and APS Users Organization (APSUO) are very pleased to announce that the 2005 Arthur H. Compton Award was given to Günter Schmahl and Janos Kirz for pioneering and developing the field of x-ray microscopy using Fresnel zone plates.
The International Union of Crystallography (IUCr) has announced that Professor Philip Coppens (Distinguished Professor, State University of New York at Buffalo) has been awarded the seventh Ewald Prize "for his contributions to developing the fields of electron density determination and the crystallography of molecular excited states, and for his contributions to the education and inspiration of young crystallographers as an enthusiastic teacher by participating in and organizing many courses and workshops."
On February 17, 2005, the international light source community, including the Advanced Photon Source at Argonne National Laboratory, launched the first website dedicated to providing the media, general public, and scientific community with the latest news and information about and from the world’s accelerator-driven light sources (synchrotrons and free-electron lasers) and about the science carried out by users of these facilities.