The Advanced Photon Source
a U.S. Department of Energy Office of Science User Facility


Lahsen Assoufid has been made a Fellow of the Optical Society (OSA) “For contributions and leadership in x-ray optics, metrology, and nanofocusing optics development.” He is Section Leader for Mirror Multilayer and Metrology in the X-ray Science Division (XSD) Optics and Detectors Group at the Advanced Photon Source at Argonne National Laboratory.
George Srajer and Jin Wang, both of the Argonne X-ray Science Division (XSD) at the U.S. Department of Energy Office of Science’s Advanced Photon Source, have been elected Fellows of the American Physical Society (APS).
A novel positron emission tomography (PET) system for molecular imaging is one of seven initiatives receiving funding from Strategic Collaborative Initiative (SCI) seed grants following a rigorous competition managed by Argonne National Laboratory and the University of Chicago. Wah-Keat Lee of the Argonne X-ray Science Division (XSD) is the Argonne Investigator on the project, and Chien-Min Kao, Associate Professor of Radiology, is the University of Chicago Investigator.
Bates is a chemical engineer and materials scientist at the University of Minnesota. He makes block copolymers — a kind of plastic. Copolymer means they're made from two different plastics, the end product having the best properties of both.
Argonne Director Eric Isaacs has appointed G. Brian Stephenson as the Interim Associate Laboratory Director for Photon Sciences, effective Oct. 1, 2010. The text of Director Isaacs’ announcement is below.
College students and mentors from a number of universities spent 10 weeks this summer learning at the U.S. Department of Energy’s (DOE’s) Advanced Photon Source (APS) and other facilities and divisions at Argonne National Laboratory as part of the DOE/National Science Foundation-funded Faculty and Student Teams (FaST) program.
Researchers have discovered that at least one species of caterpillar precedes each step with a thrust of its gut. The finding, based on experiments carried out at the U.S. Department of Energy’s Advanced Photon Source at Argonne National Laboratory points to an entirely new mode of animal locomotion and could lead researchers to develop new robotic tools for exploration and medicine.
Two innovative x-ray technologies that enhance science's ability to study large biological proteins and nanomaterials have won R&D 100 awards, regarded as the "Oscars of invention," for the U.S. Department of Energy's (DOE's) Argonne National Laboratory.
Robert Fischetti of the Argonne Biosciences Division, and Associate Director of the General Medicine and Cancer Institutes Collaborative Access Team (GM/CAT-CAT) at Sector 23 of the Advanced Photon Source (APS), is featured in the article “Crystal-Clear Images” in the 10 June 2010 issue of Nature.
Ken Sidorowicz of the APS Engineering Support Division (AES) is one of four winners of the 2010 UChicago Argonne, LLC Board of Governors Outstanding Service Award.
With mixed feelings, I announce that Murray Gibson will be leaving Argonne, effective Oct. 1, 2010, to accept a newly created position as Dean of Sciences at Northeastern University in Boston. As founding dean, he will draw from his deep experience and expertise to build and grow a new College of Science that combines 10 existing programs and schools. Part of me is delighted that Murray will have this great opportunity to shape and grow the university's already excellent science programs; but I also know how much Argonne will miss him and his leadership.
An intimate understanding of complex materials that lie at the heart of pharmaceuticals or even nuclear weapons can occur more quickly and efficiently thanks to an agreement between the U.S. Department of Energy’s Argonne and Los Alamos national laboratories.
Crystallographic analysis of x-ray and neutron diffraction data is a widely used technique to provide three-dimensional (3-D) pictures of how atoms are arranged in materials, an essential first step toward understanding a material’s function.
A high-level delegation from Australia, including the Hon. Kim Carr, Australian Federal Minister for Science, visited Argonne National Laboratory and the Advanced Photon Source (APS) on May 2, 2010.
Derrick Mancini has been appointed Deputy Associate Laboratory Director for Facility Development within Photon Sciences (PSC). Mancini’s primary responsibility will be as Project Director for the APS Upgrade, which has just received Critical Decision-0 confirmation of mission need from the U.S. Department of Energy.
The Advanced Photon Source (APS) Users Organization has named Rafael Jaramillo as the recipient of the 2010 Rosalind Franklin Young Investigator Award. Jaramillo is recognized for furthering understanding of itinerant magnetism and for contributions to the study of quantum matter at high pressure using synchrotron x-ray diffraction.
Naveen Dharmagunawardhane, a Missouri State University (MSU) graduate student in materials science, and Joseph Demster, an MSU undergraduate student in physics, participated in x-ray experiments at the [U.S. Department of Energy's] Advanced Photon Source synchrotron facility located at Argonne National Laboratory near Chicago, Ill.
Dennis Mills of the U.S. Department of Energy’s Argonne National Laboratory has been elected a fellow of the American Physical Society. The honor recognizes his development of synchrotron x-ray optics and related techniques, the build-out of beamlines at the Advanced Photon Source (APS) at Argonne, and the development of x-ray monochromators, phase plates, and timing techniques.
Physicist Antonino Miceli of the X-ray Science Division in the U.S. Department of Energy's (DOE) Advanced Photon Source (APS) at Argonne National Laboratory has been awarded $2.5 million over the next five years as part of the DOE's Early Career Research Program.
Alexander (Sasha) Zholents has been named Director of the Argonne Accelerator Systems Division of the Advanced Photon Source (APS), and Chris Jacobsen has been named an Associate Division Director of the Argonne X-ray Science Division (XSD), also of the APS.