Advanced Photon Source

An Office of Science National User Facility


In May 2002, The Advanced Photon Source was reorganized into three divisions: the Accelerator Systems Division (ASD), the APS Engineering Support Division (AES), and the X-Ray Science Division (XSD). Parts of the former User Program Division (UPD) were incorporated into XSD, while other parts were incorporated into AES.
APS Divisions

Accelerator Systems Division:

The Accelerator Systems Division provides engineering and physics support for the Advanced Photon Source.

APS Engineering Support Division:

The APS Engineering Support Division serves the APS user community by establishing and maintaining an integrated, facility-wide operations organization which provides a reliable and successful operation and high-quality user technical support.

X-ray Science Division:

The X-ray Science Division develops and builds state-of-the-art synchrotron radiation instrumentation and uses it in a safe and environmentally sound manner, to conduct world-class research at the forefront of science and technology.