Advanced Photon Source

An Office of Science National User Facility


Light filters through large windows at Claire Zurkowski’s apartment, where she sits at her loom, weaving bright yellow-orange thread into a rug already filled with the colors of the rainbow. Her works are inspired by the refraction patterns of the crystals she studies as a graduate student in geophysical sciences at the University of Chicago.
The report on the “Workshop on Biological Science Opportunities Provided by the APS Upgrade” held at Argonne on August 20-21, 2018, is now available.
Graduate students at North American universities are invited to apply to attend the 21st National School on Neutron and X-ray Scattering, which will be held at Argonne and Oak Ridge National Labs from June 16 - June 29, 2019. Applications must be submitted by March 11.