The Advanced Photon Source
a U.S. Department of Energy Office of Science User Facility

News Feed - APS/User News

University of Massachusetts Boston chemistry Ph.D. student Genevieve Asselin has received a research award from the U.S. Department of Energy’s Office of Science Graduate Student Research program. The award is given to outstanding U.S. graduate students to pursue part of their graduate thesis research at a Department of Energy laboratory/facility in the areas that address scientific challenges central to the Office of Science mission. Asselin will conduct her research at the Advanced Photon Source.
The Advanced Photon Source will hold a virtual town hall for users interested in structural biology and the APS Upgrade Project. The town hall runs from 1 p.m. to 5 p.m., CT, on Tuesday, June 21, 2022.
Electronics Engineer Fernando Rafael Adds Spark to the APS Upgrade Team. “Every day brings something new,” said Fernando Rafael, the engineer overseeing the new power supply and electrical systems for a massive upgrade of the Advanced Photon Source, a DOE Office of Science user facility at Argonne.
University of Wyoming researchers earned an allotment of time on an x-ray beamline at the U.S. Department of Energy’s Advanced Photon Source at Argonne National Laboratory to achieve in situ x-ray diffraction measurements on a novel catalyst, which is able to convert carbon dioxide mixed with methane into a valuable synthesis gas using a dry-reforming process.
Physicist Suresh Narayanan is the 2022 recipient of the Gopal K. Shenoy Excellence in Beamline Science Award. He is the group leader of the X-ray Science Division Dynamics & Structure Group at the U.S. Department of Energy’s Advanced Photon Source at Argonne National Laboratory.
The Advanced Photon Source produces ultrabright, high-energy x-ray beams. Thousands of scientists from around the world use the APS to conduct groundbreaking research that improves everyday life as we know it. Skeptical? Read on.
A new five-minute video offers an inside look at the Advanced Photon Source, from the powerful accelerator at its heart to the beamlines where groundbreaking research is conducted.
Qilin Guo, a Ph.D. candidate at the University of Wisconsin-Madison, was named the 2022 recipient of the Advanced Photon Source Users Organization’s Rosalind Franklin Young Investigator Award.
Illinois Institute of Technology’s Mohammad Asadi received $1.9 million from the Advanced Research Projects Agency—Energy to scale up a process that he developed for capturing carbon dioxide directly from exhaust gas sources and converting it into valuable products. X-ray spectroscopy studies at the Materials Research Collaborative Access Team facility at the APS will be part of the effort to further understand the science behind the process.
Elmie Peoples-Evans has been named project manager of the Advanced Photon Source Upgrade Project, effective Monday, April 25, 2022. She has been serving in this role on an interim basis since December 2021, and with this appointment she joins newly named APS-U project director, Jim Kerby, at the head of the APS-U management team.
Jim Kerby has been named project director of the APS Upgrade Project, effective Monday, April 25, 2022, making permanent a role he has held on an interim basis since December 2021.
Kathy Harkay was there at the start of the APS, working to determine the limits of what the machine could do. Now she’s working on upgrading the facility, and is looking forward to test-driving the new APS.
Zhi Qiao of the Advanced Photon Source X-ray Science Division is one of 11 postdoctoral appointees at the U.S. Department of Energy’s Argonne National Laboratory to receive a 2021 Postdoctoral Performance Award that recognizes their contributions to the Laboratory’s pivotal discoveries.
Just as chefs in a Michelin-starred restaurant collaborate to produce haute cuisine, engineers at the U.S. Department of Energy’s Advanced Photon Source at Argonne National Laboratory work together to create a similarly refined product: an upgraded facility that will drive the future of x-ray science, resulting in breakthroughs that make us better off and more secure.
The American Physical Society has awarded Ihar Lobach its 2022 Outstanding Doctoral Thesis Research in Beam Physics Award. Lobach conducted his thesis research at the U.S. Department of Energy’s Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory and has begun his postdoctoral appointment at the Advanced Photon Source.
Mathew Cherukara of the U.S. Department of Energy’s Advanced Photon Source is featured this week in “Light Source Selfies,” a reoccurring series of videos on, the website for the international x-ray light source community.
The 2022 APS/CNM Users Meeting, May 2-6 and May 9-13, will gather scientists and engineers from diverse fields of research from around the globe to discuss cutting-edge, mission-driven research. The event will feature plenary sessions, workshops, poster sessions, and a vendor expo.
The new storage ring built for the APS Upgrade Project will be made up of 1,321 precisely aligned magnets. They, and all associated electrical, water, and vacuum systems will be assembled into three types of a total of 200 modules, all mounted to concrete platforms called plinths, and then transported from the assembly area to the APS storage ring. It takes specialized equipment to make the move safely and efficiently.
Illinois Institute of Technology biology and physics professor Thomas C. Irving has been named a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science. Irving is also director of the Biophysics Collaborative Access Team x-ray research facility at the U.S. Department of Energy’s Advanced Photon Source at Argonne National Laboratory.
How the pandemic steered user research facilities on an unexpected journey of adaptation.