The Advanced Photon Source
a U.S. Department of Energy Office of Science User Facility

2015 APS Compton Award to Ice, Larson, and Sparks


The Advanced Photon Source (APS) Users Organization has announced that the 2015 APS Arthur H. Compton Award has been awarded to Gene E. Ice, Bennett C. Larson, and Cullie J. Sparks (posthumously), all of Oak Ridge National Laboratory.

The Compton Award recognizes an important scientific or technical accomplishment at, or beneficial to, the APS. This year’s award is given for seminal developments advancing spatially and temporally resolved synchrotron x-ray capabilities.

The selection committee reviewed several excellent nominations. The nominating and support statements for Ice, Larson, and Sparks made clear the importance of their work: “This nomination recognizes breakthroughs that have had transformative impacts on focusing monochromators, on submicron [three-dimensional] spatial resolution x-ray microscopy, and on high-time-resolution scientific investigations at the Advanced Photon Source and synchrotrons worldwide.”

The award will be presented at the APS Plenary Session, Monday, May 11, 2015, at the 2015 APS/CNM Users Meeting, followed by a talk.

 More information about the Arthur H. Compton Award can be found at /About/Committees/APS-Users-Organization/Compton-Award

Published Date