Advanced Photon Source

An Office of Science National User Facility

A diffraction pattern obtained using x-rays from the new Advanced Photon Source superconducting undulator is the cover image of Nature Materials, August 2013, Volume 12.
From the Chicago Tribune: Argonne, Smithsonian collaboration looks for breakthrough science in earliest photos.
From Sciencecodex: A new study on the feeding habits of ocean microbes calls into question the potential use of algal blooms to trap carbon dioxide and offset rising global levels, thanks in large part to research carried out at the U.S. Department of Energy Office of Science’s Advanced Photon Source.
From ScienceBlog: An international collaboration of scientists utilizing the bright x-ray beams from the Advanced Photon Source at Argonne National Laboratory has discovered a unique crystalizing behavior at the interface between two immiscible liquids that could aid in sustainable energy development.
From R&D Magazine online: An international team of scientists using a new x-ray method at the U.S. Department of Energy Office of Science’s Advanced Photon Source recorded the internal structure and cell movement inside a living frog embryo in greater detail than ever before.
The Department of Energy's Advanced Photon Source and the APS Users Organization announced that the 2013 Arthur H. Compton Award will be presented jointly to David E. Moncton, John N. Galayda, Michael Borland, and Louis Emery. The award recognizes the recipients' visionary leadership and technical ingenuity in introducing "top-up" operation to the synchrotron radiation community.
Argonne physicist Michael Borland of the Advanced Photon Source has been awarded the Asian Committee for Future Accelerators ACFA-IPAC ’13 Prize for recent, significant contribution to the field of accelerator science.
President Obama visited Argonne National Laboratory and the Advanced Photon Source on Friday, March 15, 2013.
Argonne Senior Physicist Robert Von Dreele has been awarded the prestigious Hanawalt Award by the International Centre for Diffraction Data.
Thanks to new research by an international team of researchers led by the U.S. Department of Energy’s Argonne National Laboratory, physicists have developed new methods for controlling magnetic order in a particular class of materials known as "magnetoelectrics." Published on line by Laboratory Equipment from an Argonne press release.
Argonne Senior Scientist Stephen Southworth has been named a Fellow of the American Physical Society for "pioneering the development of atomic and molecular spectroscopies with third- and fourth-generation light sources…”
Senior Scientist Glenn Decker has been named a fellow of the American Physical Society, an honor limited to no more than one-half of one percent of the society’s membership of more than 50,000.
The Illinois Institute of Technology, in conjunction with the Chicago Council on Science and Technology and Argonne National Laboratory, hosted a crossroads event Wednesday, bridging the art and science of understanding Picasso.
Thanks in part to research performed at the U.S. Department of Energy’s Argonne National Laboratory, the 2012 Nobel Prize in Chemistry was awarded today to Americans Brian Kobilka and Robert Lefkowitz for their work on G-protein-coupled receptors.
The Advanced Photon Source was a popular tour stop for the 2012 Argonne Energy Showcase that took place on Saturday, September 15.
In the most recent addition to the family of Advanced Photon Source beamlines, the Dynamic Compression Sector has formalized its ties with the APS in a Memorandum of Understanding signed on September 6.
The Argonne National Laboratory video entitled “Acoustic levitation” that shows Advanced Photon Source physicist Chris Benmore demonstrating “a way to use sound waves to levitate individual droplets of solutions containing different pharmaceuticals” is a Web sensation.
The summer 2012 issue of Argonne Now carries a story entitled “Inside the Advanced Photon Source.”
Brian Stephenson, Associate Laboratory Director for Photon Sciences at Argonne National Laboratory and Director of the U.S. Department of Energy Office of Science’s Advanced Photon Source has been named one of five Argonne Distinguished Fellows for 2012.
Seeking to solve some of today’s greatest global problems, scientists using x-ray light source facilities at national research laboratories in the United States and Canada are sharing more expertise.