The Advanced Photon Source
a U.S. Department of Energy Office of Science User Facility

X-Ray Science Division: Advisory Committees

Chemical and Materials Science (CMS)


  • Andrew Allan (NIST), Chair
  • Jeff Eastman (Argonne/MSD)
  • Anneli Munkholm (Philips Lumileds)
  • Barbara Wyslouzil (Ohio State)
  • David Tiede (Argonne/CSE)
Dynamics & Structure (DYS)


  • Prof. Robert L. Leheny Chair (Johns Hopkins University)
  • Dr. Xiao-Min Lin (Center for Nanoscale Materials)
  • Prof. Laurence B. Lurio (Northern Illinois University)
  • Prof. Mark Sutton (McGill University)
  • Prof. Ting Xu (University of California Berkeley)
Inelastic X-ray and Nuclear Resonant Scattering (IXN)

Sector 3

  • Brent Fultz (California Institute of Technology), Chair
  • John Tse (U of Saskatchewan and Canadian Light Source)
  • Steve Shapiro (BNL)
  • Stephen Cramer (U of California Davis)
  • Guoyin Shen (Carnegie Institute of Washington)

Sector 9

  • J. K. Blasie (University of Pennsylvania), Chair
  • B. Ocko (BNL)
  • J. Hancock (Stanford University)
  • J. Hill (BNL)
  • Y.-J. Kim (U of Toronto)
  • P. Abbamonte (UIUC)

Sector 30

  • J. Hill (BNL), Chair
  • C. Burns (Western Michigan U)
  • B. Larson (ORNL)
  • D. Farber (LLNL)
  • Y. Cai (BNL)
  • H. Sinn (DESY)
Magnetic Materials (MM)

Sector 4-ID

  • Dr. Dario Arena (Brookhaven National Lab, NSLS), chair
  • Prof. Jak Chakhalian ( Univesity of Arkansas)
  • Prof. James S. Schilling (Washington University, St. Louis)
  • Mr. Paul Thompson (XMAS, European Synchrotron Radiation Facility)
  • Dr. Elke Arenholz (Advanced Light Source)

Sector 6-ID

  • Prof. Alan Goldman (Iowa State University), chair
  • Dr. Jörg Strempfer (HASYLAB - Hamburg, Germany)
  • Dr. Carsten Detlefs (European Synhrotron Radiation Facility)
  • Prof. Bruce Gaulin (McMaster University)

Sector 29-ID

  • Dr Dario Arena (University of South Florida)
  • Dr. Steve Hulbert (Brookhaven National Lab, NSLS)
  • Dr Zahid Hussain (Lawrence Berkeley National Lab, ALS)
  • Prof. Juan Carlos Campuzano (University of Illinois, Chicago)
  • Prof. Peter Abbamonte (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign)
Materials Physics and Engineering (MPE)
  • Matt Miller (Cornell), Chair
  • David Dunand (Northwestern)
  • Robert Suter (Carnegie Mellon)
  • Mark Daymond (Queens University)
Spectroscopy (SPC)


  • Simon Bare (UOP), Chair
  • Jeff Miller (Argonne)
  • Bruce Gates (University of California - Davis)
  • Peter Stair (Northwestern/Argonne)
Sector 20
  • Daryl Crozier (Simon Fraser University), Chair
  • Gerald Seidler (University of Washington)
  • John Fulton (PNNL)
Structural Science (SRS)
  • Angus Wilkinson (Georgia Tech), Chair
  • Dave Tiede (Argonne/CSE), co-chair
  • Jim Kaduk (INEOS Tech.)
  • John Mitchell (Argonne/MSD)
Surface Scattering and Microdiffraction (SSM)

33-ID Surface/Interface Scattering

  • Peter Eng (CARS - U of Chicago), Chair
  • Ron Pindak (NSLS)
  • Paul Fenter (Argonne/CSE)
  • Stephen Streiffer (Argonne/CNM)
  • John Tischler (ORNL)
Theory and Software (TAS)
  • Mike Norman (Argonne/MSD), Chair
  • Arun Bansil (Northeastern)
  • Tom Devereaux (Stanford/SLAC)
  • George Sawatzky (U of British Columbia)
Time-Resolved Research (TRR)


  • Dr. Christopher Powell, Argonne National Laboratory
  • Dr. Robert Tranter, Argonne National Laboratory
  • Dr. Campell Carter, Air Force Research Laboratory


  • Prof. Paul G. Evans (University of Wisconsin)
  • Dr. Paul Fuoss (Argonne National Laboratory)
  • Dr. Wojciech M. Gawelda (European X-FEL)
  • Prof. David A. Reis (Stanford University)
  • Dr. Stephen H. Southworth (Argonne National Laboratory)