The Advanced Photon Source
a U.S. Department of Energy Office of Science User Facility

APSUO Beamline Science Award

About the Gopal K. Shenoy Excellence in Beamline Science Award

This APS Users Organization (APSUO) award recognizes beamline scientists who have made significant scientific contributions in their area of research or instrumentation development and have promoted the user community in this area. The award was renamed in 2017 in honor of the late Gopal K. Shenoy, one of the key players in the inception of the APS and a world renown materials scientist. Gopal was always a huge supporter of the facility's scientists and truly enjoyed working with them. 

This award is granted annually to an active APS beamline scientist (including beamline scientists from collaborative access teams) regardless of employer or rank. It may recognize a career of meaningful sustained contribution, a body of recent important work, a single work of particular importance, or a combination of these accomplishment. Nominees must be full-time beamline scientists at the Advanced Photon Source who spend at least half of their time on user operations or instrument development.

Any APS user may submit a nomination. Nomination packets must include a 1-2 page (max) CV of the nominee (similar to a biosketch), and a 1-2 page (max) nomination letter that includes two DOIs or URLs for publications. The nomination letter should integratively review the nominee’s accomplishments and evaluate his/her scientific and/or instrumentation contribution(s) in terms of substance, quality, originality, and impact. A nomination is valid for 2 years.

The awardee will be recognized at the Users Meeting, receive a $1000 award, and have his or her name added to the award plaque hanging in the atrium in Building 401.

2021 Winner


The 2021 "Gopal K. Shenoy Award for Excellence in Beamline Science at the Advanced Photon Source" (APS) has been awarded to Jiyong Zhao, a physicist in the X-ray Science Division Inelastic X-ray and Nuclear Resonant Scattering Group at the U.S. Department of Energy’s Advanced Photon Source at Argonne National Laboratory.

The entire article can be read here.


2020 Winner

The 2020 Gopal K. Shenoy Award for Excellence in Beamline Science at the Advanced Photon Source has been awarded to Yang Ren, a physicist and lead scientist in the X-ray Science Division at the Advanced Photon Source.

The award recognizes Ren for "creating a world-leading high-energy x-ray diffraction (HE-XRD) beamline and user program for comprehensive atomic structure studies of condensed matter." It was noted in the nomination that the success of the HE-XRD instrument at 11-ID-C "would not have been possible without Dr. Ren’s dedication to establishing, fostering, and guiding his user community."

The full story can be read here.

2018 Winner

The 2018 Gopal K. Shenoy Award for Excellence in Beamline Science at the Advanced Photon Source was awarded on May 7, 2018, to Hua Zhou, a physicist in the Surface Scattering and Microdiffraction Group of X-ray Sciences Division at the Advanced Photon Source.

The first-ever GKS Excellance award recognized Zhou’s pioneering work in the field of synchrotron radiation studies of complex oxide heterostructures, using various sectors of the APS. Zhou is a world-recognized leader in performing hard x-ray surface and interface studies and in promoting the use of hard x-ray techniques for versatile thin film materials, in particular for oxide investigation.

The full story can be read at

Past Winners



To comment on the contents, please contact