The Advanced Photon Source
a U.S. Department of Energy Office of Science User Facility

2020 Users Meeting Program Book

2020 UM banner
2020 Users Meeting Program Information

Virtual Workshops from the 2020 APS/CNM Users Meeting

2020 Users Meeting Workshops, Training Courses, and Short Courses

APS WK#1: Advanced Spectroscopy Probes to Investigate Matter under Extreme Conditions - Opportunities Afforded by the MBA Lattice

CNM WK #2: Hybrid Quantum Systems

APS WK #3: Biological Studies via X-ray Fluorescence and Ptychography at the Bionanoprobe

Joint APS/CNM WK #4: Autonomous Control of Experiments in the Microscopes and Light Sources of the Future

Joint APS/CNM WK #5: Advances in Phase Retrieval Methods for High-resolution X-ray Imaging

APS WK #6: Multi-Modal X-ray Techniques for Emergent Quantum Materials

CNM WK #7: Artificial Intelligence for Autonomous Synthesis and Processing

SAT A: Beyond RG BioSAXS 2020

SAT B: Dynamic X-ray Crystallography

SAT C: SAXS Software Course: Irena and Nika

SAT D: X-ray Ptychography Training Course

SAT E: Data Analysis School on X-ray Scattering from Liquid Interfaces

SAT F: Macromolecular Synchrotron Data Collection Workshop

CNM Short Course A: Fundamentals of High Aspect Ratio Pattern Transfer by Deep Reactive Ion Etching (DRIE) Processes

CNM Short Course B: Introduction to Confocal Raman Spectroscopy

CNM Short Course C: Using the Hard X-ray Nanoprobe

CNM Short Course D: Thin Film Deposition Overview


Congratulations to Hsinhan (Dave) Tsai on receiving the 2020 Rosalind Franklin Young Investigator Award!

The 2020 APS/CNM Users Meeting originally scheduled for April 20-24, 2020, at Argonne National Laboratory was canceled due to the COVID-19/coronavirus outbreak.
The action to cancel the APS/CNM Users Meeting was taken to protect the health of all meeting attendees and the wellbeing of our entire community.  This action was taken out of an abundance of caution. We apologize for any disruption to your plans. Thank you for your understanding. We hope that you will rejoin us in 2021. 
The Facility Directors and the Local Organizing Committee:
Ilke Arslan, Interim Director, Center for Nanoscale Materials
Stephen Streiffer, Director, Advanced Photon Source
Jacqueline Cole, Cavendish Laboratory, University of Cambridge
Vice-Chair, CNM Users Executive Committee
Carlo Segre, Illinois Institute of Technology 
Chair, APS User's Organization Steering Committee
Joshua Wood, Dynatrace, Inc.
Chair, CNM Users Executive Committee
Fan Zhang, National Institute of Standards and Technology 
Vice-Chair, APS User's Organization Steering Committee


To comment on the contents, please contact or 630-252-9090.