The Advanced Photon Source
a U.S. Department of Energy Office of Science User Facility

APS UEC Franklin Award - Past Winners

APS Users' Executive Committee Rosalind Franklin Young Investigator Awards
Award Year Recipient Citation 
2023Marm DixitFor his work on imaging techniques for solid-state batteries.Marm Dixit is the winner of the 2023 Rosalind Franklin Young Investigator Award. (Image by Oak Ridge National Laboratory.)
2022Qilin GuoFor groundbreaking work uncovering the dynamics and mechanisms of metal additive manufacturing processes.Qilin Guo, winner of the 2022 Rosalind Franklin Young Investigator Award
2020Dave TsaiFor continuing research into opto-electronic applications of perovskites representing some of the most creative and versatile use of 8-ID-E and pushing the boundaries of grazing-incidence wide angle x-ray scattering (GIWAXS) with simultaneous auxiliary probes and GIWAXS coupled with characterization at other beamlines.Tsai
2018Joshua RibackFor work using small-angle x-ray scattering techniques (SAXS) at the APS focused on the link between the biophysical properties of macromolecules and the principles of biological phenomena.Joshua Riback
2016Ling LiFor his work using high-resolution synchrotron-based tomography techniques to develop a fundamental understanding of the mechanical and multifunctional design of biological materials.Ling Li


2014Julian MoosmannFor outstanding contributions in developing phase-retrieval methods and applying phase-contrast in vivo microtomography to probe embryonic development.Julian Moosmann
2012Damien C. EkiertFor outstanding structural and functional studies of the influenza virus envelope glycoprotein hemagglutinin (HA) to understand how our immune system can broadly neutralize the virus through interaction with the HA and prevent viral fusion.



2010Rafael JaramilloFor furthering understanding of itinerant magnetism and for contributions to the study of quantum matter at high pressure using synchrotron x-ray diffraction.


2008Oleg G. ShpyrkoFor applying challenging surface and coherent x-ray scattering techniques to understanding the structure and dynamics of liquid metal surfaces and quantum states in condensed matter systems.


2006Wendy L. MaoFor applying novel x-ray techniques that permit the study of light-element speciation at high pressure and for innovative experimental approaches to studying mineral physics at conditions of the Earth’s deep interior.


2004Alexis S. TempletonFor combining synchrotron and other techniques in new ways to study the influence of microorganisms in two domains: the speciation of metals in geochemical systems and the weathering
of basaltic glasses in deep ocean environments.



To comment on the contents, please contact or 630-252-9090.