Advanced Photon Source

An Office of Science National User Facility

APSUO Arthur H. Compton Award - Past Winners

APS User Organization Arthur H. Compton Awards

Award Date   Awardee(s)   Recognized for:   
May 2015
  • Gene E. Ice
  • Bennett C. (Ben) Larson
  • Cullie J. Sparks (posthumously

Seminal developments that have advanced capabilities for spatially and temporally resolved synchrotron x-ray research.

2015 APS Compton Award to Ice, Larson, and Sparks
May 2013
  • David E. Moncton
  • John N. Galayda
  • Michael Borland
  • Louis Emery
Implementing the first "top-up" operation in a synchrotron light source

2013 Compton Award Winners

May 2011
  • Edward Stern
  • Farrel Lytle
  • Dale Sayers (posthumously)
  • John Rehr
Development of the technique of x-ray absorption fine structure spectroscopy (XAFS)

2011 Compton Award Winners.


May 2009
  • Gerhard Grübel
  • Simon Mochrie
  • Mark Sutton
Pioneering efforts in x-ray photon correlation spectroscopy (XPCS), which exploits the coherent properties of synchrotron x-rays to study the slow dynamics of condensed matter at short length scales

2009 Compton Award Winners

May 2007
  • Andrzej Joachimiak
  • Gerold Rosenbaum
Pioneering advances and leadership in establishing the APS as a premier location worldwide for protein crystallography research  
May 2005
  • Günter Schmahl
  • Janos Kirz
Pioneering and developing the field of x-ray microscopy using Fresnel zone plates  
April 2003
  • Martin Blume
  • L. Doon Gibbs
  • Denis McWhan
  • Kazumichi Namikawa
Pioneering theoretical and experimental work in resonant magnetic x-ray scattering, which has led to important applications in condensed matter physics  
October 2001*
  • Wayne A. Hendrickson
Development and use of multiwavelength anomalous diffraction (MAD) methods

2001 Compton Award 2001 Winner

May 2000
  • Sunil K. Sinha
Development of the general theory of off-specular surface scattering

2000 Compton Award Winner Sinha

October 1998*
  • Donald H. Bilderback
  • Andreas K. Freund
  • Gordon S. Knapp
  • Dennis M. Mills
Development of cryogenically cooled x-ray optics for handling undulator x-ray beams.  
April 1997*
  • Philip M. Platzman
  • Peter M. Eisenberger
Theoretical and experimental contributions to the fields of x-ray scattering  
October 1995*
  • Nikolai Vinokurov
  • Klaus Halbach
Development of hybrid undulator x-ray sources  

* Where no link is given, no separate announcement was published.

User Office Footer

To comment on the contents, please contact