High-throughput high-resolution inelastic x-ray scattering beamline

Developers:

Yuri Shvyd'ko¹ (PI), Deming Shu¹, Lahsen Assoufid¹, Stephen P. Collins², Clement Burns³

¹ Advanced Photon Source, Argonne National Laboratory, Illinois, 60439, USA (shvydko@aps.anl.gov)

² Diamond Light Source Ltd, Didcot Oxfordshire OX11 0DE, UK

³ Western Michigan University Kalamazoo, MI 49008, USA

Abstract

We propose a beamline for inelastic x-ray scattering (IXS) that will simultaneously provide dramatically increased signal strength, reduced measurement times and unprecedented resolution compared to all present-day and planned facilities. This will become possible by using novel "echo"-type spectrometers, whose operational principle does not rely on the monochromaticity of the x-rays. The small source size and vastly increased brilliance of the APS-U machine will be especially beneficial for echo-type spectrometers, whose performance relies on defocusing and refocusing of x-rays. The new spectrometers will allow, either, up to $\simeq 1000$ -fold reduction in measurement time for experiments at presently available $\simeq 1 \text{ meV}/1 \text{ nm}^{-1}$ resolution, or an unprecedented $\simeq 0.1 \text{ meV}/0.1 \text{ nm}^{-1}$ resolution with a up to $\simeq 10$ -fold improved signal strength. These capabilities will break the barriers of existing IXS and push the exploration of condensed matter and materials. In particular, it will enable studies on a few tens of nanograms of material in thin-film systems (superconductors, thermoelectrics, lithium ion batteries, etc.); studies at extreme conditions (up to 3000 K and 400 GPa); a clear investigation of mesoscopic liquid dynamics, etc., that have not been previously reachable.

The proposal, especially the science case, has been written with contributions from:

Arun Bansil, Alfred Baron, John Budai, Clement Burns, Sow-Hsin Chen, Stephen Collins, Alexander Chumakov, Takeshi Egami, Kenneth Finkelstein, Raphaël Hermann, Hawoong Hong, Ho-Kwang Mao, Steven May, Mathieu Le Tacon, Alexei Sokolov, Viktor Struzhkin, Dmitry Reznik, Stephan Rosenkranz, and Frank Weber.