The Advanced Photon Source
a U.S. Department of Energy Office of Science User Facility

X-ray Science Division Director Search

Dear Colleagues – I want to make our community aware of a critical opening that we have currently within the Advanced Photon Source, that of Director of the Argonne X-ray Science Division (XSD). This person will be a key member of my senior management team, and will lead x-ray science strategy and beamline operations during this vitally important period for APS as we head towards an upgraded APS.

We have recently launched the search committee to begin the recruitment process for this position. It is imperative that we cast a wide net so we can attract the most qualified and diverse candidate slate possible. Attached is a pdf file of the recruitment advertisement. If you would like to apply for the position you can visit and refer to requisition #400514. Review of applications will begin on February 1st and will continue until the position is filled.  Please forward the advertisement to anyone you think might be qualified or interested. If you know of potential referrals who may be qualified for the position, but you would prefer to have a member of the search committee make contact, you can forward their names to or to Jim Bluemond (, Manager of Talent Acquisition at Argonne.

In addition, we welcome your input beyond referrals. If you have questions or suggestions regarding the XSD Director search process, please feel free to send them to the Search Committee Chair, Dennis Mills, at the email address below.

I would like to thank the following members of the XSD Director Search Committee for their time and engagement on this important recruitment project:
Committee Chair – Dennis Mills, Deputy Associate Laboratory Director for X-ray Science, Photon Sciences (

  • Julie Cross, User Technical Interface, APS Engineering Support Division, Argonne
  • Paul Fenter, Senior Scientist and Group Leader; Director of the Center for Electrochemical Energy Science; Chemical Sciences and Engineering, Argonne
  • Alan Goldman, Professor, Iowa State University; Senior Physicist, Ames Lab; member of the APS User Organization Steering Committee
  • Dean Haeffner, Physicist; Associate Project Manager, APS Upgrade Project, Argonne
  • Daniel Haskel, Physicist and Group Leader, APS X-Ray Science Division, Argonne
  • Ka Yee Lee, Professor, University of Chicago; member of the APS Scientific Advisory Committee
  • Jessica McChesney, Physicist, APS X-Ray Science Division, Argonne
  • Guoyin Shen, Director of HP-CAT, Carnegie Institution of Washington; member of the APS Partner User Council

Thank you all for your consideration and support. I am looking forward to a great year for our APS community.