NUFO 2009


We hope you'll be joining us on June 10-12, 2009, for the sixth annual meeting of the National User Facilities Organization (NUFO). This organization brings together user executive committee representatives of national user facilities with facility administrative and managerial staff for the benefit of our collective user communities.

This year's meeting is being held at Argonne National Laboratory and hosted by all six of Argonne's national user facilities: Advanced Photon Source (APS), Argonne Leadership Computing Facility (ALCF), Argonne Tandem Linear Accelerator System (ATLAS), ARM Climate Research Facility (ACRF), Center for Nanoscale Materials (CNM), and Electron Microscopy Center (EMC).

Day One of the three-day meeting focuses on users, user organizations, and the role they play in promoting science at national and international levels. Dr. Harriet Kung, Associate Director of Science for Basic Energy Sciences, DOE, will speak about the important role played by facility users in fostering our national science mission. Day Two looks at industrial use of our facilities and will include descriptions of best practices, barriers to partnering, and potential collaborative solutions. Day Three focuses more deeply on administrative issues, with sharing of best practices in a number of common areas.

Links to the working agenda, registration form, and travel information are on the left. There is no charge to attend this meeting but all attendees must register so that we can arrange for site access and make sure we have adequate space (and refreshments).

We look forward to seeing you at Argonne in June.

Local Organizing Committee:

Susan Strasser and Paul Fuoss, APS
Paul Dave, ALCF
Allan Bernstein and Shaofei Zhu, ATLAS
Doug Sisterson and Laurel Chapman, ACRF
Katie Carrado-Gregar, CNM
Russell Cook, EMC