meeting banner

Opening Session & Facility Plenary Sessions
Monday, May 6, 2013

Opening Session | APS Plenary | CNM Plenary | EMC Plenary

Opening Session—Morning
Bldg. 402, Auditorium

8:45 Pamela Focia, APSUO Chair
8:55 Eric Isaacs, Argonne National Laboratory Director
Welcome from the Laboratory and Introduction of Argonne's U.S. Representatives
9:15 The Honorable Bill Foster, U.S. Representative, 11th Congressional District of Illinois
Washington Perspective
9:30 The Honorable Daniel Lipinski, U.S. Representative, 3rd Congressional District of Illinois, Washington Perspective
9:45 Brian Stephenson, Associate Laboratory Director for Photon Sciences, Argonne National Laboratory
Introduction of Keynote Speaker
9:50 Keynote Speaker: Brian Kobilka, 2012 Nobel Prize Winner in Chemistry, Professor in the departments of Molecular and Cellular Physiology at the Stanford University School of Medicine
10:30 Break
11:00 Brian Stephenson, Associate Laboratory Director for Photon Sciences, Argonne National Laboratory
Update on the Advanced Photon Source
11:25 Amanda Petford–Long, Director, Center for Nanoscale Materials, Argonne National Laboratory
Update on the Center for Nanoscale Materials
11:45 Dean Miller, Director, Electron Microscopy Center, Argonne National Laboratory
Update on the Electron Microscopy Center
12:00 Yves Idzerda, Vice Chair, National User Facility Organization
National User Facility Organization (NUFO) Report
12:15 Lunch


APS Session
Bldg. 402, Lecture Hall

1:45 Peter Abbamonte (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign)
Whither Inelastic X-ray Scattering?
2:15 Compton Award winners
3:00 Mark Stalzer (California Institute of Technology)
Trends in Scientific Discovery Engines (abstract)
3:30 Break
3:55 Jay Schuren (Air Force Research Laboratory)
Changing the Paradigm for Engineering Design by Merging High Energy X-ray Data with Materials Modeling (abstract)
4:25 Paul G. Evans (University of Wisconsin–Madison)
Opportunities for Picosecond Science in the APS Upgrade
4:55 Invited student talk: Christopher M. Dettmar (Purdue University)
Second Harmonic Generation for Monitoring X-ray Damage (abstract)
5:15 Adjourn


CNM Session
Bldg. 402, Room E1100-1200

1:30 Paul Nealey (The University of Chicago)
Directed Assembly of Nanoscale Materials
2:15 Junhong Chen (University of Wisconsin at Milwaukee)
Graphene-based Hybrid Nanomaterials for Gas Sensing
2:45 Chad Folkman (Argonne National Laboratory)
Catalysis and Electronic Structure of Complex Epitaxial Oxide Thin Films Studied by In situ X-ray Scattering and Cross-sectional STM (abstract)
3:15 John Freeland (Argonne National Laboratory)
CNM User Executive Committee Update
3:25 Break
3:50 Greg Wurtz (King's College London)
Ultrafast Dynamics and Spectral Behavior of Nanorod-based Plasmonic Metamaterials and Their Excitonic Hybrids (abstract)
4:20 Sanja Tepavcevic (CNM, Argonne National Laboratory)
Nanoarchitectures for Batteries: Beyond Lithium (abstract)
4:50 Invited student talk: Daniel Hannah (Northwestern University)
Optical and Structural Properties of Si Nanoparticles at High Pressures (abstract)
5:05 Adjourn


EMC Session
Bldg. 401, Room A1100

1:45 J.G. Wen (EMC, Argonne National Laboratory)
Contribution of Cc and Cs Correction to High-resolution TEM at All Energy-loss Regimes (abstract)
2:15 Jim Zuo (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign)
Uncovering Nanoscale Structural Complexities by Scanning Electron Nanodiffraction (abstract)
2:45 Dave McComb (Ohio State University)
EELS and EDX Spectrum Imaging: Can We Measure Compositional Gradients on the Atomic Scale? (abstract)
3:15 Break
3:45 Martha McCartney (Arizona State University)
Electron Holography of Nanoscale Electric and Magnetic Fields (abstract)
4:15 Masashi Watanabe (Lehigh University)
Nanocharacterization of Materials by Spectrometry-based Approaches in STEM and TEM (abstract)
4:45 Invited student talk: Wenpei Gao (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign)
Imaging of Interfacial Oxygen Using Chromatic Aberration-corrected TEM (abstract)
5:15 Adjourn

Updated 05/02/13