Argonne National Laboratory

Users Week 2009
May 4-6, 2009

Argonne Home > Advanced Photon Source >




Ninth Advanced Photon Source Arthur H. Compton Award

2009 Compton Winners: Simon Mochrie, Mark Sutton, and Gerhard Grübel

Nominations are now open for the Ninth Advanced Photon Source Arthur H. Compton Award. This award, established in 1995 by the APS Users Organization, recognizes an important scientific or technical accomplishment at the Advanced Photon Source. The award consists of a plaque and $2500. This award is presented in alternate years at the spring APS Users Meeting; the awardee(s) are expected to present a plenary lecture(s).

Instructions — Nominations should include a brief (one page or less) nominating letter containing a description of the work for which the award is proposed, a statement describing the significance and impact of the work, a short proposed citation for the award plaque, and the names of two individuals who will provide supporting letters (under separate cover). (It is the responsibility of the nominator to request the supporting letters.) Nominations and supporting letters should be e-mailed to Susan Strasser ( Complete packages will be sent to the selection committee, which consists of representatives from the APS Scientific Advisory Committee and the APS Users Organization. The deadline for the submission of all nominating information is Saturday, February 28, 2009. The awardee(s) will be notified by March 15, 2009. Contact Susan Strasser if you have questions.

Background — Previous recipients include Nikolai Vinokurov and Klaus Halbach (1995); Philip M. Platzman and Peter Eisenberger (1997); Donald H. Bilderback, Andreas K. Freund, Gordon S. Knapp, and Dennis M. Mills (1998); Sunil K. Sinha (2000); Wayne A. Hendrickson (2001); Martin Blume, L. Doon Gibbs, Denis McWhan, and Kazumichi Namikawa (2003); Günter Schmahl and Janos Kirz (2005); and Andrzej Joachimiak and Gerold Rosenbaum (2007).

Compton was an American physicist who won the Nobel Prize for Physics in 1927 for discovering and explaining changes in x-ray wavelengths resulting from x-ray collisions with electrons, the so-called Compton effect. This important discovery in 1922 confirmed the dual nature (wave and particle) of electromagnetic radiation. A Ph.D. from Princeton University, Compton held many prominent positions including professor of physics at The University of Chicago and chairman of the committee of the National Academy of Sciences that studied the military potential of atomic energy. His position on that committee made Compton instrumental in initiating the Manhattan Project, which resulted the first atomic bomb.

Student Poster Opportunities: Prize, Invited Talk

The 2009 Users Week offers two great opportunities for students to gain special recognition for their work at Argonne user facilities. Recipients of student awards will be listed here after the meeting.

1. Invited talk (including free registration and banquet ticket) Students may choose to have their poster abstract considered for conversion to an invited 20-minute talk during an appropriate plenary session. One talk will be selected per facility. Winners may present a poster in addition to the talk, if they wish, but they will not be eligible for poster prizes. Candidates will also be asked to send a CVl.

2. Poster prize All student posters (except those selected for talks) will be considered for $100 cash prizes. Winners will be recognized at an appropriate session during the meeting. We expect to award 3 prizes.





U.S. Department of Energy Office of Science |  Office of Basic Energy Sciences |  UChicago Argonne LLC

Privacy & Security Notice |  Contact Us |  Site Map