Argonne National Laboratory

Users Week 2009
May 4-6, 2009

Argonne Home > Advanced Photon Source >




About the awards >>

Ninth Advanced Photon Source Arthur H. Compton Award

Simon Mochrie, Yale University, New Haven, Connecticut
Mark Sutton, McGill University, Montreal, Canada
Gerhard Grübel, HASYLAB/DESY, Hamburg, Germany

The 2009 Compton Award is presented jointly to Simon Mochrie, Mark Sutton, and Gerhard Grübel for their pioneering efforts in x-ray photon correlation spectroscopy (XPCS), which exploits the coherent properties of synchrotron x-rays to study the slow dynamics of condensed matter at short length scales. Read more >>

Invited Student Talk

Naji Sami Husseini, Applied Physics Program, University of Michigan
Phase-contrast Imaging of Superalloys Subject to High Cycle Fatigue at Extreme Temperatures (Poster A76)

Student Poster Awards

Jonathan D. Emery, Department of Materials Science and Engineering, Northwestern University
Long-Period X-ray Standing Wave Studies of Self-assembled Nanoscale Dielectrics" (Poster A73)

David Kissick, Chemistry Department, Purdue University
Highly Sensitive, Non-damaging Imaging of Protein Crystals at Cryogenic Temperatures (Poster A56)

D. K. Schreiber, Department of Materials Science and Engineering, Northwestern University
Optimized Sample Preparation for Atom Probe and Electron Tomography with Dual-beam FIB (Poster E3)






U.S. Department of Energy Office of Science |  Office of Basic Energy Sciences |  UChicago Argonne LLC

Privacy & Security Notice |  Contact Us |  Site Map