APS Upgrade Machine Advisory Committee

An important next step in APS Upgrade planning will be a technical evaluation by an expert machine advisory committee of the various accelerator options we are considering.  The evaluation will provide guidance to APS and its users on how to obtain revolutionary performance, with minimal disruption to existing users. The committee will be asked to evaluate each accelerator upgrade option against the following criteria:

  • Can it deliver the technical performance claimed?
  • Is the claimed performance technically revolutionary, and how does it compare with “green-field” proposals?
  • What are the technical R&D challenges needed to successfully deliver the upgrade?
  • What is the expected disruption to users associated with implementing this option, and what can be done to mitigate risk?
  • Are there other proposals that should be considered?

This review is scheduled for November 15 and 16, 2006. The Machine Advisory Committee is made up of an internationally distinguished group of accelerator physicists who have very kindly agreed to participate:

Klaus Balewski DESY: Hamburg, Germany
Max Cornacchia Retired from Stanford Linear Accelerator Center: California
John Galayda Stanford Linear Accelerator Center: California
Georg Hoffstaetter  Cornell University: New York
Andrew Hutton  Thomas Jefferson National Accelerator Facility: Virginia
Sam Krinsky   National Synchrotron Light Source, Brookhaven National Laboratory: New York
Annick Ropert  European Synchrotron Radiation Facility: Grenoble, France
Elaine Seddon Daresbury Laboratory: Cheshire, UK
Vic Suller (Chair) Center for Advanced Microstructures and Devices, Louisiana State University: Louisiana