Gopal Shenoy, Advanced Photon Source (Chair)

Sunil Sinha, University of California, San Diego (Co-chair)

Objective: The user community at the Advanced Photon Source (APS) continues to contribute to the leadership across the frontiers of scientific knowledge in various fields of research. The objective of the study was to explore future science directions for APS users that will expand their scientific leadership and push the boundaries of the scientific frontiers in the next decade.

Approach: Through extensive survey of the national science community, an initial set of workshop topics were selected. These workshops included leaders of scientific community who are both experts and new comers to the use of the x-ray techniques. The general objectives for each of the workshops were:

  1. Identify new opportunities for continued scientific discovery and impact using synchrotron radiation sources during the next 5-10 years.
  2. Explore the breadth of science covered by the workshop topics, not limiting to synchrotron techniques alone.
  3. Discuss how the existing community can be grown by bringing scientific leaders to the workshops who will benefit from the addition of synchrotron techniques in their research arsenal.
  4. Identify few dozen new scientific programs which the participants will bring to the APS during next 5-10 years and evaluate the new instrumentation and operational requirements for these programs to succeed.
  5. Examine existing beamline capabilities at the APS and define what future beamline capabilities would be desirable.
  6. Prepare a summary document for the archival literature to serve as a roadmap for the future of the workshop topic utilizing the capabilities of the Advanced Photon Source.

Report: The study will be documented through a report based on the summaries from each of the workshops.


Workshops and Dates:

1 Future Directions in Synchrotron Environmental Science
(APS Users' Meeting, May 4, 2004, APS)
Chairs: Steve Sutton, Ken Kemner, Shelly Kelly

2 Emerging Areas in Biological Crystallography
(Dates July 26-28, 2004, APS)
Chairs: Wayne Hendrickson, John Helliwell

3 Frontier Science Using Soft X-rays
(August 5-6, 2004, APS)
Organizers: Richard Rosenberg, Juan Carlos Campuzano

4 Science with High-Energy X-rays
(August 9-10, 2004, APS)
Chair: Dean Haeffner

5 Membrane Science
(August 17-18, 2004, APS)
Chairs: Millicent Firestone, Tom Irving, Jin Wang, Randall Winans

6 Emerging Scientific Opportunities Using X-ray Imaging
(August 29 to September 1, 2004, Lake Geneva)
Chairs: Francesco De Carlo, Wah Keat Lee, Gabrielle Long, Stuart Stock

7 Time Domain Science Using X-ray Techniques
(August 29 to September 1, 2004, Lake Geneva)
Chairs: Lin Chen, David Reis, Linda Young, Steve Milton

8 Mesoscopic and Nanoscopic Science
(August 29 to September 1, 2004, Lake Geneva)
Chairs: Sunil Sinha, Eric Isaacs

9 Nanomagnetism Using X-ray Techniques
(August 29 to September 1, 2004, Lake Geneva)
Chairs: Sam Bader, Laura Lewis, George Srajer

Workshop Secretary:
Bonnie Meyer
Tel: 630.252.3098
Fax: 630.252.9303

Questions or suggestions about the meeting should be directed to Gopal Shenoy in care of Bonnie Meyer.