Call for APSUO Steering Committee Nominations

The bylaws of the Advanced Photon Source Users Organization (APSUO) specify that six members will be elected each year to the Steering Committee. Terms are for two-year periods unless extended to enable officers to fulfill their obligations of office. This year, six members will be retiring; Mark Sutton, the retiring Chair, will remain on the Steering Committee as an ex officio member.

Retiring Members: Continuing Members:
Alan I. Goldman, Iowa State Univer. Jonathan Z. Tischler, ORNL (incoming Chair)
Steven E. Ealick, MacCHESS, Cornell Univer. D. Mark Sutton, McGill (past-Chair, ex-officio)
Richard L. Harlow, DuPont Mark A. Beno, Materials Science Div., ANL
Gabrielle G. Long, NIST Robert A. Bubeck, The Dow Chemical Co.
Ronald S. Pindak, Lucent Technologies Steven B. Dierker, University of Michigan
John P. Quintana, DND-CAT Lynda C. Soderholm, Chemistry Div., ANL
Larry B. Sorensen, University of Washington Stephen Sutton, The University of Chicago


A nominating committee selected by the APSUO Steering Committee has already slated 12 candidates to fill six positions. Biographies of the slated candidates will be placed in meeting packets, and voting will occur at the APSUO business meeting on Thursday, April 17, 1997. (Only those present will be permitted to vote.) Nominations are also welcomed from the User community and will be accepted from the floor. Additionally, the ballot cards will contain spaces for write-in candidates. Anyone interested in Steering Committee membership or in nominating should contact Ron Pindak, Chair of the 1997 Nominating Committee (telephone: 908/582-3604; e-mail:

The 12 candidates slated to date are:
Randy Alkire, SBC-CAT Denis Keane, DND-CAT
Cele Abad-Zapatero, Abbott Laboratory Satyendra Kumar, Kent State Univ.
Simon Bare, UOP Research Corp. Roger Leach, DuPont
Paul Bertsch, Univ. of Georgia Mark Schlossman, Univ. of Ill., Chicago
Peter Eng, The University of Chicago Janet Smith, Purdue University
Eric Isaacs, Lucent Technologies George Srajer, APS