Minutes of the APSUO Steering Committee Meeting

Held on May 4, 2000, at Argonne National Laboratory


R. Alkire, M. Antonio, J. Budai, D. Chapman, S. Dierker, P. Dutta, P. Eng, P. Fenter, D. Haeffner, S. Heald, E. Isaacs, D. Keane, D. Mills, D. Moncton (lunch only), S. Muchmore, C. Pittroff, A. Rosenzweig, W. Schildkamp, G. Shenoy , G. Srajer, B. Stephenson, S. Strasser, and P. Zschack

Welcome and Introduction; Recognition of Retiring Members:

Incoming Chair Eric Isaacs greeted the group after lunch and thanked the outgoing APSUO members for their service. Retiring members include Cele Abad-Zapatero, Randy Alkire, Peter Eng, Denis Keane, George Srajer, and Jonathan Tischler. Steve Dierker will remain on the committee as the ex officio chair. Dierker was recognized for his recent efforts in support of the President's budget; he has established a framework for further efforts by the user community to actively support funding efforts at the Congressional level. He emphasized that individual, personal contact (not e-mail) is the most effective way to express interest in and support for the budget process.

Newly elected members were introduced, including John Budai (Oak Ridge National Laboratory), Pulak Dutta (Northwestern University), Dean Haeffner (Advanced Photon Source, ANL), Steven Muchmore (Abbott Laboratories), Amy Rosenzweig (Northwestern University), and Brian Stephenson (Materials Science Division, ANL).

New Business:

Gopal Shenoy reminded the group that much more can be done to provide high visibility for the science done at the APS. Many national and international conferences and meetings can provide forums for highlighting synchrotron radiation (SR) research, including meetings of the American Physical Society, the Gordon Conference, the American Chemical Society, SRI, and IUCr. A subcommittee should be considered to follow through on emphasizing SR science in these venues.

Recent changes in security requirements for access to DOE national laboratories by non-U.S. citizens have had a significant impact on the APS. Shenoy reviewed a flow chart outlining, in detail, the actual process for obtaining access approval. Among the requirements are reviews for counterintelligence and security issues, as well as entries into a national DOE database for further reviews. After all reviews are complete, a final approval must be obtained from the Argonne laboratory director.

Currently, all APS users are classified as no-pay Argonne employees. In the near future, new users will receive training on security-related issues during user orientation, and all currently badged users will receive specific security training. The most important action prospective users who are non-U.S. citizens can take is to register as far in advance as possible (e.g., at the time a proposal or request for beam time is submitted).

Next Meeting:

The next meeting of the APSUO Steering Committee will be held Wednesday, July 12, 2000.