Image of Compton AwardAPS Arthur H. Compton Award

2013 Compton Winners: David E. Moncton, John N. Galayda, Michael Borland, and Louis Emery

The Arthur H. Compton award was established in 1995 by the APS Users Organization (APSUO) to recognize an important scientific or technical accomplishment at the Advanced Photon Source. The award consists of a plaque and $2500.

The awards are generally made at APS User Meetings, which are held every spring. A call for nominations is sent out four months before the meeting, and the winner is notified at least two months in advance and invited to give an award lecture at the meeting. Awards are not necessarily made each year.

Compton was an American physicist who won the Nobel Prize for Physics in 1927 for discovering and explaining changes in x-ray wavelengths resulting from x-ray collisions with electrons, the so-called Compton effect. This important discovery in 1922 confirmed the dual nature (wave and particle) of electromagnetic radiation. A Ph.D. from Princeton University, Compton held many prominent positions including professor of physics at The University of Chicago and chairman of the committee of the National Academy of Sciences that studied the military potential of atomic energy. His position on that committee made Compton instrumental in initiating the Manhattan Project, which created the first atomic bomb.

Arthur H. Compton Awards

Award Date
Recognized for:

October 1995

Nikolai Vinokurov
Klaus Halbach

Development of hybrid undulator x-ray sources.

April 1997

Philip M. Platzman
Peter M. Eisenberger

Theoretical and experimental contributions to the fields of x-ray scattering.

October 1998

Donald H. Bilderback
Andreas K. Freund
Gordon S. Knapp
Dennis M. Mills

Development of cryogenically cooled x-ray optics for handling undulator x-ray beams.

May 2000

Sunil K. Sinha

Development of the general theory of off-specular surface scattering.

October 2001

Wayne A. Hendrickson

Development and use of multiwavelength anomalous diffraction (MAD) methods.

April 2003

Martin Blume
L. Doon Gibbs
Denis McWhan
Kazumichi Namikawa

Pioneering theoretical and experimental work in resonant magnetic x-ray scattering, which has led to important applications in condensed matter physics.

May 2005 Günter Schmahl
Janos Kirz

Pioneering and developing the field of x-ray microscopy using Fresnel zone plates.

May 2007 Andrzej Joachimiak
Gerold Rosenbaum
Pioneering advances and leadership in establishing the APS as a premier location worldwide for protein crystallography research
May 2009 Gerhard GrĂ¼bel
Simon Mochrie
Mark Sutton
Pioneering efforts in x-ray photon correlation spectroscopy (XPCS), which exploits the coherent properties of synchrotron x-rays to study the slow dynamics of condensed matter at short length scales.
May 2011 Edward Stern, Farrel Lytle, Dale Sayers (posthumously), and John Rehr Development of the technique of x-ray absorption fine structure spectroscopy (XAFS)
May 2013 David E. Moncton
John N. Galayda
Michael Borland
Louis Emery
Implementing the first "top-up" operation in a synchrotron light source


2013 Compton presentation
Presentation of the 2013 Compton Award, from l to r: Brian Stephenson,
David Moncton, John Galayda, Louis Emery, and Michael Borland.